# LORDS, LORD KINGS, MASTER FORESTERS, CHIEF STEWARDS AND BOWBEARERS

Since the late C11th, there have been 29 Lords of Bowland, 16 Lord Kings of Bowland, 66 Master Foresters, Chief Stewards and Bowbearers.

#### Lords of Bowland, 1092-1660

1092-1102	Roger de Poitou
1102-1123	Henry de Lacy, endowed Kirkstall Abbey
1123-1193	Robert de Lacy, built Clitheroe Castle
1193-1211	Roger de Lacy
1211-1240	John de Lacy, 1st Earl of Lincoln
1240-1258	Edmund de Lacy, 2nd Earl of Lincoln
1258-1311	Henry de Lacy, 3rd Earl of Lincoln
1311-1322	Thomas Plantaganet, 2nd Earl of Lancaster
1322-1345	Henry Plantagenet, 3rd Earl of Lancaster
1345-1361	Henry of Grosmont, 4th Earl, later Duke of Lancaster
1361-1399	John of Gaunt, Duke of Lancaster, Duke of Aquitaine
1399-1413	Henry IV, Duke of Lancaster
1413-1422	Henry V, Duke of Lancaster
1422-1461	Henry VI, Duke of Lancaster
1461-1470	Edward IV, Duke of Lancaster
1470-1471	Henry VI, Duke of Lancaster
1471-1483	Edward IV, Duke of Lancaster
1483-1483	Edward V, Duke of Lancaster
1483-1485	Richard III, Duke of Lancaster
1485-1509	Henry VII, Duke of Lancaster
1509-1547	Henry VIII, Duke of Lancaster
1547-1553	Edward VI, Duke of Lancaster
1553-1558	Mary I, Duke of Lancaster
1558-1603	Elizabeth I, Duke of Lancaster
1603-1625	James I, Duke of Lancaster

1625-1649	Charles I, Duke of Lancaster
1649-1660	Charles II, Duke of Lancaster

#### Lords of Bowland after 1660

1661-1670	1st Duke of Albemarle (granted by Charles II)
1670-1688	2nd Duke of Albermarle (inherited from father)
1688-1701	1 <sup>st</sup> Earl of Bath (by reversion from first cousin)
1701-1701	2 <sup>nd</sup> Earl of Bath (inherited from father)
1692-1709	1st Duke of Montagu (by reversion through marriage to widow of 2nd Duke of Albermarle)
1709-1749	2nd Duke of Montagu (inherited from father)
1749-1790	4th Earl of Cardigan later 1st Duke of Montagu (second
	creation) later 1st Baron Montagu of Boughton
	(inherited from father-in-law)
1790-1802	1st Earl of Beaulieu (inherited from father-in-law)
1802-1812	3rd Duke of Buccleuch (inherited from wife's brother-in-
	law)
1812-1819	4th Duke of Buccleuch (inherited from father)
1819-1827	5th Duke of Buccleuch (entailed on uncle following
	death of 3rd Dowager Duchess)
1827-1835	2nd Baron Montagu of Boughton later Lord Montagu of Beaulieu (inherited from mother, 3rd Dowager Duchess)
1835-1846	Peregrine Towneley (acquired by private treaty)
1846-1876	Charles Towneley (inherited from father)
1876-1878	John Towneley (inherited from brother)
1878-1885	Lucy Towneley (inherited from husband surrendered to
	trustees of Towneley Settled Estates 1885)
1885-2008	Towneley Settled Estates Trust
2008-2009	Charles Towneley 4th Lord O'Hagan (claimed on behalf of Towneley family)
2009-	William Bowland (succeeded by private treaty)
= = = =	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

## MASTER FORESTERS, BOWBEARERS, CHIEF STEWARDS

## Master Foresters and Bowbearers of Bowland, 1150-1650

1157	Uchtred de Bolton
1212	Elias de Bolton
1220	Richard de Bolton
1260	John de Bolton
1300	Edward de Acre
1304	Richard de Spaldington
1304-1311	John de Bolton
1311-1322	Thurstan de Norleygh
1322-1327	Edmund Dacre
1327-1330	Richard de Spaldyngton
1331-1353	Adam de Urswyk
1353-1372	John de Radcliffe
1372-1403	Sir Walter Urswyk
1403-1424	Sir Henry Hoghton
1424-1425	Sir Thomas Hoghton
1425-1432	Sir Thomas Tunstall
1432-1437	Sir William Assheton
1437-1459	Richard, Earl of Salisbury
1459-1471	Sir Richard Tunstall
1471-1485	Richard, Duke of Gloucester
1485-1485	Sir James Harrington
1485-1519	Sir Edward Stanley, later Lord Monteagle
1519-1526	Sir Richard Tempest
1526-1543	Sir Thomas Clifford (Bowbearer Nicholas Tempest,
	executed 1537)
1543-1553	Sir Arthur D'Arcy
1554-1554	Sir Thomas Talbot
1554-1594	Sir Richard Shireburn of Stonyhurst
1594-1630	Sir Richard Hoghton
1631-1642	Sir Gilbert Hoghton
1645-1650	Sir Richard Hoghton

## Chief Stewards of Bowland, 1650-1922

1650-1660	George Pigot
1660-1664	Henry Brockden
1665-1682	Richard Kirkby of Kirkby Ireleth
1682-1686	Curwen Rawlinson of Cark Hall, Cartmell
1686-1687	William Kirkby
1687-1692	Anthony Parker
1693-1693	Ambrose Pudsay
1693-1700	James Sloane
1701-1709	Thomas Colthurst
1710-1749	Thomas Dummer
1750-1757	William Folkes
1757-1775	Lawrence Robinson
1775-1782	John Barcroft
1782-1806	Martin Richardson
1806-1811	William Carr
1811-1835	Thomas Carr
1835-1839	William Thomas Carr
1839-1878	Dixon Robinson
1878-1912	Arthur Robinson
1912-1922	Frederick Robinson
1922-2011	No appointee
2011-	Michael Parkinson

#### **Bowbearers of Bowland since 1660**

1662-1682	Thomas Parker
1682-1689	Curwen Rawlinson
1689-1706	Thomas Lister of Westby
1689-1721	Edward Parker
1707-1745	Thomas Lister of Westby, son of above
1721-1754	John Parker
1745-1757	John Fenwick of Burrow Hall, Lord of Claughton
1754-1794	Edward Parker

1794-1797	John Parker
1797-1820	Thomas Lister Parker (claimed until 1858)
1820-1832	Thomas Parker of Alkincoats
1835-1871	Richard Eastwood
1871-2010	No appointee
2010-	Robert Parker